About

        It is only during the last fifteen years that I have been able to develop my interest in making jewellery as a commercial venture. This coincided with moving from Surrey to a traditional Cornish smallholding with my husband in August 2004.

        Whilst I had always been interested in jewellery and design I had had a very non-creative professional career up until that time
. An interest does not necessarily always translate into a successful outcome but I am constantly delighted with the results of my efforts and the feedback my jewellery receives.

  
I initially attended evening classes in Helston and then Truro and latterly went on to study at Truro College. I continue to learn and experiment in my own workshop and often suffer from a problem of too many ideas but insufficient time to explore them! I have found that working on commissions for individual customers is a stimulating and satisfying way of pushing in directions I might not otherwise go.

        I fit my work around the demands of the smallholding where my husband and I raise mainly pigs and sheep. Our Cornish Large Black / Gloucester Old Spot pigs and our sheep even appeared in an episode of Monty Don's 'My Dream Farm' and we seem to be constantly either knocking down, building or embarking on some new project such as our mixed woodland designed for coppicing. Planting our woodland was a wonderful project but unfortunately, the last two years has seen a large number of the 600 ash trees we have nurtured decimated by the arrival of ash die back in Cornwall. We can only watch with sadness as they all gradually succumb and try and plan what to plant in their place.

        We also have dogs, cats and chickens and currently seem to be the breeding site for hundreds of moles! When I am not busy with animals and jewellery or any of my four children (and grandchild) who may be around, I enjoy rowing for Helford River Gig Club and, until I stepped down in November 2018, was a longtime Trustee of Cornwall Hospice Care where I was Board Chair for the last three years. I am currently spending time with our home-bred puppy, Winnie, working on Rally Obedience and Agility training.